Engaging Public High School Counselors

The Ad Hoc Committee on Engaging Public High School Counselors was asked to develop practical recommendations for expanding NACAC membership among public high school counselors, with special attention to counselors at Title I schools. The committee considered the priorities for high school counselors to successfully guide students on their path to postsecondary education, such as increasing professional development opportunities, the value of NACAC membership for the profession, and the need for increased visibility, advocacy, and support for the profession.

Committee members

Candice Mackey (co-chair)
Los Angeles Center for Enriched Studies (LACES)

Jennifer Nuechterlein (co-chair)
Hunterdon Cenral Regional High School (NJ)


Bob Bardwell
Monson High school (MA)

Emily Behan
Coney Island Prep High School (NY)

Stephanie Brazinsky
Denver South High School (CO)

Deanna Dixon
Smith College (MA)

Beth Gilfillan
Bowling Green State University (OH)

Priscilla Grijalva
Norte Vista High School (CA)

Nancy Herndon
Hamilton Southeastern High School (IN)

Fitima Jackson
Rice University (TX)

Rodrick Jackson
Southern Methodist University (TX)

Mike Jaskoski
Avon High School (IN)

Erin Kim
Granada Hills Charter High School (CA)

Margarita Landeros
Green Dot Public Schools (CA)

Jennifer Landy
Wayzata High School (MN)

Ericka Matthews-Jackson
Wayne State University (MI)

Lynda McGee
Downtown Magnets High School (CA)

Nichole Mitchell
Norristown Area High School (PA)

William Pepin
North Smithfield High School (RI)

Corey Sheffield
College AIM (GA)

Randy Stamm
Hackensack High School (NJ)

Staff liaisons

Shantel Goodman-Luckett
Chief Experience Officer

Cameron Hair
Research Associate

Expand / Collapse All