Government Relations Award

Established in 2001, the Government Relations Award is presented to a NACAC member who has made outstanding efforts in support of policy initiatives that promote equal access to higher education, encourage student achievement and promote counselor excellence, and further the government relations priorities of NACAC members.  

About the 2018 Winner:

Advocacy work has flourished in the Western Association for College Admission Counseling (WACAC) under the leadership of Breanne Boyle. As chair of the affiliate’s government relations committee, Boyle, a college counselor with Collegewise (CA), helped growattendance at WACAC’s 2018 advocacy day in Sacramento by 60 percent, making this year’s legislative conference the largest in affiliate history. Boyle has lobbied on behalf of school counselors at both the state and national levels. She uses her connections to help keep her affiliate colleagues up-to-date on important pieces of pending legislation.

Watch the Video: In this video, Boyle talks about the roundabout way she began her career in college admission, her greatest professional accomplishments, why advocacy is important in the work NACAC members do, and why it is so important to exercise your right to vote.

Previous Award Winners:

  • 2018 - Breanne Boyle
  • 2017 - Sarah Summerhill
  • 2016 - Jessica Sant
  • 2015 - Grant Blume
  • 2014 - Julie Fopma
  • 2013 - Jayne Fonash
  • 2012 - Ken Anselment
  • 2011 - Bob Bardwell
  • 2010 - Craig Dodson
  • 2009 - Patrick O'Connor
  • 2008 - Jon Westover
  • 2007 - From Western ACAC: Kevin Buck, Elsa Clark, Esther Hugo, Esther Lopez, Rafael Magallan, Marc Meredith, Katy Murphy, and Loretta Whitson
  • 2006 - Allen V. Lentino  
  • 2005 - New York State ACAC
  • 2004 - Rose-Ellen Racanelli
  • 2003 - Jim Miller
  • 2002 - Frank Sachs  
  • 2001 - Braxton Rethwisch


Expand / Collapse All

  • Honor Your Colleagues

    Submit an Award Nomination Form for one of NACAC's national awards. Nominations are due to NACAC by April 15. Nominations received after the April 15th deadline will be held until the next year's award nomination cycle.

  • NACAC Awards

    NACAC honors individuals who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to the field of education, to the profession, and to our organization.

    Read More